Sims 4 Excitement!

I know everyone is kind of overloaded with info about the Sims 4 from the Creators Camp, but I couldn’t contain all of my excitement, so I’ll try to keep this short!

I think it is kind of interesting to note that the Sims 4 has put a lot of stress on emotions in gameplay, it certainly seems to have inspired varying emotions in the community as a whole!

There is, for the most part, a lot of vitriol aimed at the Sims 4.  I think this is partially due to poor communication from the Sims 4 team, and partially the normal hate inspired by a new sims release.  There is no doubt that you are losing a lot of things when moving from one iteration of the game to the next.  Afterall, the Sims 3 is finally complete and fully decked out with all the expansion and stuff packs, and Sims 4 is short both toddlers and pools and a CASt system.

It’s a tough place to be in, if you are excited over the game.  Don’t bother defending your opinions, you’ll just be labeled an EA fangirl.  And this is coming from someone who was not initially excited.  What won me over was the smoothness of the new CAS, the idea of building new and really solid base game from the ground up.  I have no doubt that this required a lot of work.  Instead of reusing everything from previous games, they really thought about how to make systems better, how to get rid of bloated save games and laggy CAS.  Everything I’ve seen so far seems to prove that they have really thought about things.  I feel like toddlers and pools were sacrificed for a reason.  I guess only time will tell if I am right about that.

What really got me excited today with the flood of information?  The idea that a gardener can splice together different plants and grow combined plants.  What?!?  The horticulturist in me knows you can do that in real life, and I am unbelievably excited that such a small detail was added to the game!  I also like that if you write a book in a certain mood, people will gain that moodlet when they read it!

I guess for now I’ll just have to be secretly excited here in my own little corner of the internet.

 

 

Leave a Reply

